ARC Review: The Other Side of the Sky

The Other Side of the Sky

By: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Genre: High Fantasy, YA

Release Date: September 8, 2020

Page Count: 432

Synopsis: New York Times bestselling author duo Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have crafted a gripping tale of magic and logic, fate and choice, and a deadly love. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Brandon Sanderson.

Prince North’s home is in the sky, in a gleaming city held aloft by intricate engines, powered by technology. Nimh is the living goddess of her people on the Surface, responsible for providing answers, direction—hope.

North’s and Nimh’s lives are entwined—though their hearts can never be. Linked by a terrifying prophecy and caught between duty and fate, they must choose between saving their people or succumbing to the bond that is forbidden between them.

This review will be spoiler free

First a big thank you to Harper Collins Canada for sending me an ARC of this beautiful book in exchange for an unbiased review. Again, as with my previous two reviews, you’ll notice that the release date for this book was a couple of months ago, so why am I still calling it an ARC review you ask? Well due to COVID related delays and some courier issues I received these books a month late so I hav been playing catch up with my reviews. However, that means you don’t have to wait for this book’s release to read it!

This book was a really refreshing surprise. I hadn’t heard anything about this story or this book ahead of time, which is weird because usually I have read at least one review or anticipated reads post about a book before I buy it. So I really didn’t have any expectations, but this book was still a really fun and fresh fantasy read that took me by surprise. The story itself was very original, it’s not something I have read before and I really liked the dichotomy between Nimh’s faith and magic, and North’s science and technical knowledge. It was a really cool way of presenting a character foil that really worked to make both characters more interesting.

I liked the dual POV, though I think that at some points it slowed the story down a bit, and as a result I think the final conflict felt a bit rushed. I didn’t think that the emotional weight of the final showdown was felt as much as it should have been because I need maybe one or two more chapters of build up. However, overall the story was well written, the world building was average I would say, we didn’t get a ton of information but in a way that worked because we were learning alongside the characters.

This book is very YA, and I don’t say that as a bad thing, more as a warning that it does have some of the classic YA tropes that we all know and love (?) so don’t read this book if you are expecting a dark, adult fantasy. The book also has a cat in it which I think makes this an automatic good read! If you are looking for a relatively light, fun and unique YA fantasy read with some romance and lots of magic, this is the book for you!

Have you read this book already? let me know your thoughts in the comments.


One thought on “ARC Review: The Other Side of the Sky

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s