The #Notall Book Tag

Happy Wednesday booklovers, I hope everyone is having a good start to their August (can you believe summer is almost over?!) It has been a while since I did a book tag and I saw this one over at Reading Every Night and I loved it so much I had to do it. It was originally created by the amazing Orangutan Librarian so please go check out both of their answers as well. I love this tag because it is a positive take on tropes, and genre stereotypes, because as the title suggests, they’re not all bad!

#NOTALL COVER CHANGESA COVER CHANGE YOU LIKED

flamecaster-covers-hb-and-pb.jpg

Even though my shelf is now mismatched, I actually loved this cover change, I just felt like it fit the series better.

#NOTALL ADAPTATIONS AN ADAPTATION YOU LOVE MORE THAN THE BOOK

Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 12.37.56 PM.png

I only ever read the first Hunger Games book but I loved the fils, I felt like they added another level to the story that was lacking in the books for me. The 100 is a far better tv series than the books ever were, it brought drama and intrigue to the story that was definitely missing. Stardust is one of my favourite movies, and so I think I will always favour it over the written version.

#NOTALL TROPES A TROPE YOU’LL NEVER TIRE OF SEEING

Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 12.56.17 PM.png

The Royal Reveal trope. We all know how it goes, a character finds out they are a royal, or someone reveals that they have been one all along. I actually really like this trope, maybe it’s the kid inside me that still squeals when I watch Cinderella… It just makes me happy.

#NOTALL INSTALOVEYOU INSTALOVED THIS INSTACOUPLE

Untitled-1.png

Kestrel and Arin in the Winner’s Curse trilogy. So I usually despise Insta-love, it is my least favourite trope, but in this case I didn’t mind it. I liked them as a couple and so I didn’t even mind the short time frame of their romance.

#NOTALL LOVE TRIANGLESAN EXAMPLE OF LOVE TRIANGLE DONE WELL

The_Selection_Series2.jpg

The America-Maxon-Aspen love triangle was actually pretty tolerable. It wasn’t prolonged and annoying in a way that would have made me slowly hate all the characters. There was also a clear and definitive ending to the triangle which gave it closure.

#NOTALL PARENTS BOOKISH PARENTS THAT, YOU KNOW, PARENT!

Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 1.00.40 PM.png

Sally Jackson, Percy Jackson’s mom is probably one of the most present parents I have seen in YA Fantasy. She actually cares what goes on in her son’s life and lived with a horrible man for years just to protect him, she is a pretty great mom.

#NOTALL VILLAINS – A VILLAIN YOU LOVE

Screen Shot 2018-03-20 at 1.29.12 PM

I really enjoyed The Cruel Prince, it was such a unique book and it really felt unexpected. Prince Cardan was a great “villain” and I can’t wait to see what he does in the next book. I love it was the villains have stories of their own.

#NOTALL CHOSEN ONES – A CHOSEN ONE YOU CAN GET BEHIND

But-Im-The-Chosen-One-Harry-Potter-GIf.gif

It could never have been anyone else but Harry Potter, I mean isn’t he the ultimate chosen one?

#NOTALL HYPED BOOKS A BOOK THAT LIVED UP TO THE ACCLAIM

Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 1.23.41 PM.png

I was nervous about all of these books, since their hype was so big, but they all lived up to my expectations, even surpassing them.

#NOTALL *INSERT FAVOURITE GENRE*A BOOK YOU’RE NOT KEEN ON FROM YOUR FAVOURITE GENRE

My favourite Genre would have to be  Fantasy or Scifi so I’ll go somewhere in the middle and pick a Magical Realism book, The Magicians by Lev Grossman. I have a special kind of hate for this book, mostly because it was billed as perfect for fans of Harry Potter and it majorly failed to deliver for me.

#NOTALL *INSERT LEAST FAVOURITE GENRE*A BOOK YOU LIKED FROM A GENRE YOU DON’T OFTEN READ

Screen Shot 2018-08-02 at 1.10.55 PM.png

I am not a fan of contemporary books at all, but I loved The Book Thief. It is such a special book and definitely one of the most unique ones I have ever read.

I TAG:

Heather @The Sassy Book Geek

Holly @The Nut Free Nerd

Sahi @My World of Books

Aly @Book Huntress’ World

Paige @Books and Belle

Sophie @Beware of the Reader

Annalee @Buttons Book Review

And as usual no pressure to do the tag, and if I haven’t tagged you and you want to give it a go, please do! I would love to hear your thoughts.


26 thoughts on “The #Notall Book Tag

  1. So glad you like this tag! Oh yeah I agree with you about stardust- I prefer that to the book as well. And I like the royal reveal too 🙂 I love Sally Jackson. And renegades and six of crows both lived upto the hype for me 😀 I really really didn’t like the magicians either. I also loved the book thief. Awesome answers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to have to steal this one because it looks like so much fun! I am a die hard Neil Gaiman fan and I agree with you 100% on Stardust. I enjoyed the book but I *loved* the movie and thought it was better than the book by far.

    I have The Winners Trilogy lined up to read and I’m very excited about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Arin and Kestrel are definitely a great couple! They just fit together! Sally is great too, I love her relationship with her son. I didn’t like Cardan at first, but he’s starting to grow on me. And I can’t wait to see what he’ll do in the wicked king! I’ll always get behind Harry Potter as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You picked some great books for this tag. I definitely agree with you on Stardust because as much as I enjoyed the book I loved the movie just a tiny bit more. Sally Jackson is a brilliant parent, and oh Caraval, Six of Crows and Renegades are all favourites of mine too. They were books I was so excited for in the run up to their release but which I ended up enjoying more than I even thought I would.
    Great post, and again great answers for this tag. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a wonderful tag Norees… and I love your answers… Six of Crows is definitely going to be my answer for the hype question 😊😊😊 and Harry is the ultimate chosen one right 😃😃
    Thank you so much for tagging me !!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s