Mid Year Freak Out Tag 2018

Happy Wednesday booklovers, so as I was scrolling through my wordpress feed I started seeing all these mid year posts, and I had a mini panic attack because I had totally forgotten that we are in fact half way through 2018! I can hardly believe it, like I actually had to pinch myself just to be sure. I saw this tag on The Orang-utan Librarian and I knew I had to give it a go, I am not technically tagged for it but I am just gonna roll with it anyways. Also that blog is amazing so please go check it out!

1. Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2018?

Screen Shot 2018-07-02 at 8.39.16 AM.png

That would probably be a tie between Renegades by Marissa Meyer and The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli (even though I technically read it at the end of December, but it was just that good). But I was really lucky to not have many disappointing reads this year! Check out my reviews Here (The Last Namsara), Here (Renegades).

2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2018?

61f4e5f060d4aeecee9a805148ffe6b8-rimg-w720-h309-gmir1.jpg

Even though it is the third in a series I am going to have to say Stormcaster by Cinda Williams Chima. I adored her first series (7 realms, starting with The Demon King) and this sequel series just hasn’t been as good, but that all changed with this book, it may be my favourite of her’s yet! Review to come super soon, and I am hoping to get a review for this whole series soon.

3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To?

36301023.jpg

My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brody Ashton and Jodi Meadows. I loved My Lady Jane, it was one of the few books that made me laugh out loud. I can’t wait for this second instalment.

4. Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year?

32469736.jpg

The Disasters by M.K. England

Hotshot pilot Nax Hall has a history of making poor life choices. So it’s not exactly a surprise when he’s kicked out of the elite Ellis Station Academy in less than twenty-four hours.

But Nax’s one-way trip back to Earth is cut short when a terrorist group attacks the Academy. Nax and three other washouts escape—barely—but they’re also the sole witnesses to the biggest crime in the history of space colonization. And the perfect scapegoats.

On the run and framed for atrocities they didn’t commit, Nax and his fellow failures execute a dangerous heist to spread the truth about what happened at the Academy.

They may not be “Academy material,” and they may not get along, but they’re the only ones left to step up and fight

5. Biggest Disappointment of the Year so far?

Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 8.06.06 PM.png

Probably One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake. I liked Three Dark Crowns but this sequel fell a little short for me, I just felt like it was missing something. Hopefully it was just a regular sequel slump and the series will be better than ever in book three! My review to come soon.

6. Biggest Surprise of the Year so far?

u34+1F!EVWH7ngw7NLVXIcKIKW2pmYA+Gl!w8rbMsYH!BRIAG5OUet9tcq9F2XjffXkZsjELHH1dotzfe59Az8458JDs9D0t2hphI9KAc!+WsW1OYzkgsRAdZgmVYczu.png

A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue. This book’s cover caught my eye even though I usually don’t read that genre. I ended up really enjoying the book and it made me look again at some similar ones I had decided not to read. See my review here

7. Favourite New Author?

35121240.jpg

Melissa Albert. I really loved The Hazel Wood, it was such a fun, dark and twisted take on the fairytale genre, and a thoroughly enjoyable stand alone book. I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

8. Newest Fictional Crush?

Prince Corwin from Onyx and Ivory. He was not only a great character but I definitely had a crush on him throughout the book!

9. Newest Favourite Character?

Princess Ciara from Beyond a Darkened Shore. She was just so badass and powerful I couldn’t help but love her! I mean a warrior princess who has supernatural powers and doesn’t take shit from anyone, what more could you ask for?!

10. Book that Made You Cry?

No book has had me outright sobbing yet this year (to this day only Deathly Hallows has had me sobbing). But I will admit to tearing up at a certain part in Stormcaster, and if you’ve read it you definitely know what I am talking about.

11. Book that Made you Happy?

30724132.jpg

Geekerella hands down, it was such a cute and happy story! I finished that book with a big smile on my face.

12. Favourite Book to Film Adaption?

The_Darkest_Minds_teaser_poster.jpg

This one hasn’t actually come out yet but I am hoping it will be a good one; The Darkest Minds (From the book by Alexandra Bracken). It is one of my favourite books so fingers crossed that the adaption follows in the footsteps of Harry Potter and The Hunger Games and gets it right! Check out the trailer here

13. Favourite Post You’ve Done This Year?

I think it is probably a tie between my very first Favourite Books Re-Imagined post. This has become a regular fixture on my blog since then and I have loved hearing all the positive feedback from you guys. The Second would be my  Feeling Nostalgic: My Favourite Childhood Reads it was so fun to take a look back at all the books I loved growing up.

14. Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year?

Unknown.jpeg

Probably Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. It has such a gorgeous cover and was a really fun read as well.

15. What Books do you need to Read by the end of the Year?

AHHH are you really going to make me pick?! There are so many I am hoping to read and I am sure my list will grow by many more as the year goes on. One that stands out right now is Archenemies (Renegades #2) and To Kill a Kingdom.

As always I want to hear from all of you! Also if you saw this post earlier with none of this info in it, it is because my computer had a nervous breakdown and erased all my work, and then silly me didn’t check before publishing! Well never fear, this time I triple checked so all the answers should publish with no trouble.


17 thoughts on “Mid Year Freak Out Tag 2018

  1. I just requested The Disasters – it sounds so amazing! Renegades was if one of my favourites this year too, I cannot wait for Archenemies! To Kill a Kingdom is also great – I would definitely recommend. Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment